Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content

Beebe Healthcare Announces Winners of Annual Quality and Safety Awards

Beebe Healthcare is committed to continuously identifying ways to streamline and optimize patient care, with quality and safety positioned at the top of the priority list. In line with that priority, each year, the organization presents a series of quality and safety awards, designed to recognize internal teams who have gone the extra mile to solve quality or safety problems, and implement best practices to positively impact patient care.

In 2021, the organization was not able to host the awards event it has called a tradition for the past 10 years, due to COVID-19 restrictions and social distancing guidelines. Winners of those awards patiently awaited their moment in the spotlight and enjoyed it at an event recently held at the Kings Creek Country Club in Rehoboth Beach.

Awards were presented to teams who led and participated on the following projects:

  • Reduction of COPD 30-Day Readmissions Victor Banzon, MD; Kristie Zangari, MD; William Chasanov, DO; Mark Boytim, MD; Lisa Shotyk, AGPCNP; Krista Henshaw, MSN, APN, FNP-B; Chris Steele; Carol Martin, CPHQ; Laurene Roth; Kim Blanch; Jennifer Shearer; Rose Furio; Audrey Moore; Elizabeth Zehner; Ngozi Azuogu; Haley Winward; Holly Marvel
  • Oncology Charge Posting Process Automation Matthew Kall; Sue Shultz; Sandra Williams; Jon Westmore; Rebecca Markowitz; Lou Hill; Bonnie Werni; Sharon Kesterson; Andrea Newberry; Deb Moyer; Lisa Giorgilli; Penny Meade
  • Reducing Length of Stay Patients Through Implementing New Discharge Planning Efforts for Complex Patients Laurene Roth; Lisa Kelshaw; Elizabeth Dean; Erika Kalb; Linda Abbott; Nicole Fry; Destiny Thomson; Natosha Thorpe; Crystal Luckhardt; Ann Regacho; David Banks; Holly Powers; Kendra Hill; Vicky Godwin; Kailey Androsko; Kiernan Quay, CRNP; Laurie Lucinski

David A. Tam, MD, MBA, CPHE, FACHE, President & CEO, and Terry Megee, Board Chair of Beebe Healthcare, and Stephen Fanto, MD, Board Member and Chair of the Quality and Safety Board Committee, joined the teams in their respective photos.

“We are incredibly proud of these teams and are so pleased we were finally able to present their well-deserved awards,” said Marcy Jack, JD, BSN, CPHRM, CPHQ, Chief Quality Officer at Beebe Healthcare. “Our quality and safety awards are designed to recognized the people who go above and beyond, who either identify a problem and are determined to develop a solution, or who see an opportunity for us to work better and smarter, for the benefit of our team as well as the patients we serve.”

At the awards ceremony, teams were commended for their commitment and progress to their quality and safety projects, managed in the midst of what has and will always be recognized as one of the most challenging times in healthcare.

“A continued commitment to quality and safety was evident every day as Beebe managed the pandemic, and the wide range of operational challenges that came with it,” Dr. Fanto said. “During this especially challenging time, our team continued to identify opportunities to improve healthcare quality and safety and worked on important special projects geared toward problem solving and process improvement. Their diligence demonstrates just how committed our people are to quality and safety, as a key component to optimizing the overall patient experience.”