Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content

Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare celebrates Class of 2015 Graduation

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare recently celebrated the Class of 2015 graduation with 16 graduates at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware.

The ceremony honored the graduates for their accomplishment and marked another milestone for the school that next year will celebrate its 95th anniversary. It is the only hospital-based nursing program in Delaware. In July, the school will open the doors of its new and expanded facility which is bringing the latest in nursing education technologies to the area. The school’s expansion will also allow for a growing student body. Over time, the class size is expected to double.

At the graduation ceremony, Bridget Buckaloo, MSN, RNC-OB, Executive Director of Women’s Health Services at Beebe Healthcare, was the commencement speaker. Rachael Springer, President of the Class of 2016, presented congratulations to the graduates. Shelby Collins, Vice President of the Class of 2015, shared class reflections and a video with her classmates.

The Honorable William Swain Lee, Chair of the Beebe Board of Directors, presented the Board of Directors’ Award for the highest academic achievement to Christina Hanna. The Beebe Healthcare Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian Award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented by Dr. R. Alberto Rosa to Chloe Charlsen. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Megan Draper. The Patient Care Director’s Leadership Award was presented to Paige Norvell.

The Beebe Auxiliary presented its award honoring the graduate who excelled academically, clinically and in community involvement to Brynn Thompson. Shelby Collins received the Maternal Child Award, given by Eleanor Cordrey in memory of her sister Virginia Cottingham to the graduate demonstrating an interest in maternal-child nursing. Caitlin McGroerty received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Bayside Health Association Award, honoring the memory and characteristics of Alison Trout, was presented to Kelly Goodwin. Nicole Gilmore was honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education.

Cancer in Common of Rehoboth honored Caitlin McGroerty with its award recognizing the graduate with an interest in cancer. Chloe Charlsen was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice Award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. Jesse Balis and Brynn Thompson were honored for their perfect attendance. Reverend Constance Hastings shared the invocation and the benediction.

Karen Pickard, MSN, RN, CNE, Program Administrator of the School of Nursing, along with Class Advisors Morgan Mast, MSN, RN, CNE, and Alison Watson, MSN, RN, CEN, presented the graduates with their School Pin. The Honorable William Swain Lee presented the diplomas.

Members of the Class of 2015 are: Jesse Balis, Chloe Charlsen, Erin Clark, Meghan Colegrove, Shelby Collins, Megan Draper, Elizabeth Ferry, Nicole Gilmore, Kelly Goodwin, Christina Hanna, Tabethia Maloney, Caitlin McGroerty, Caitlin Murray, Paige Norvell, Candice Ryder, and Brynn Thompson

Reception and fellowship was shared following the graduation in the Epworth United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall.

The school is accredited by The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), formerly NLNAC. The diploma in Professional Nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, leading to licensure as a registered nurse. Beebe graduates consistently have high NCLEX pass rates and can complete a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing at University of Delaware or at Wilmington University.

Caption: Pictured here, are 2015 graduates, Front row (L-R): Shelby Collins, Erin Clark, Jesse Balis, Chloe Charlsen, and Candice Ryder; Middle row (L-R): Nicole Gilmore, Meghan Colegrove, Caitlin McGroerty, Kelly Goodwin, and Elizabeth Ferry; Back row (L-R): Christina Hanna, Brynn Thompson, Caitlin Murray, Tabethia Maloney, Megan Draper, and Paige Norvell.

Beebe Healthcare is a not-for-profit community healthcare system with a charitable mission to encourage healthy living, prevent illness, and restore optimal health for the people residing, working, or visiting in the communities we serve. It offers services throughout Southern Delaware for residents and visitors, including a 210-licensed-bed hospital, a cancer center, and outpatient facilities providing walk-in care, lab, imaging, and physical rehab services. For more information, please visit us online at