Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content

Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing Celebrates Class of 2020 with Virtual Graduation Ceremony

Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing Class of 2020


The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare recently celebrated the 29 graduates of its Class of 2020 with a virtual ceremony.

This is the first time in the school’s 99-year history that a traditional pinning ceremony could not take place. Friends, family members, and community members were all invited to attend a virtual ceremony which took place on May 27.

Rick Schaffner, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer for Beebe Healthcare, delivered the commencement speech. Rick has been a long-time supporter of the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing, as he is a diploma graduate himself. Rick is an advocate for life-long learning and for nursing education.

Nicholas Constantine, President of the Class of 2021, congratulated the graduates. Kelsi Warrington, President of the Class of 2020, shared class reflections and well-wishes for their future endeavors. A video of favorite memories from the class was presented by Gabrielle Fazio.

Many of the Class of 2020 graduates will become team members at Beebe Healthcare.

David A. Herbert, Chair of Beebe Healthcare’s Board of Directors, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Kelsi Warrington. The Beebe Healthcare Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented by Paul C. Peet, MD, to Alexis Leskovac. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Matteline Fagan. The Patient Care Leadership Award, presented by Beebe Healthcare’s Chief Nursing Officer Lynne Voskamp, went to Kelsi Warrington.

The Beebe Auxiliary Ginger Snowden Award honored two graduates who excelled academically, clinically, and in the community throughout the nursing program and was presented to Teryn Green and Mariah Little. Lauren Carter was honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education. Anna Nutter was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice Award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care, and Jennifer Schroeder was honored for her perfect attendance.

The fourth annual philanthropy award was presented this year by the Beebe Medical Foundation in partnership with Margaret “Peggy” H. Rollins. The Margaret H. Rollins Student Philanthropy Award went to the graduate who demonstrated exemplary performance in philanthropic activities which supported both Beebe Healthcare and the community. This award was given to Alexis Leskovac for her leadership in numerous fundraisers and community activities, including the first-ever service learning trip abroad to Lima, Peru, in January 2020. The award was presented by Tom Protack, President of the Beebe Medical Foundation.

Beebe Healthcare, Beebe Medical Foundation, and the School of Nursing faculty continue to be honored to have the support of the Rollins family to ensure the growth and success of the school and its graduates.

Beebe Healthcare Chaplain, Keith Goheen, shared the invocation and the benediction.

Karen L. Pickard, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, Program Administrator of the School of Nursing, along with David Tam, MD, MBA, FACHE, President and CEO of Beebe Healthcare, presented the graduates with their diplomas.

“Although the ceremony was virtual, the graduates proudly displayed their nursing pins on their graduation uniforms,” Pickard said. “It was certainly an event for the history books!”

Members of the Class of 2020 from left to right are: Tara Steele, Shalon Ferguson, Tara Holstein, Lucy Monigle, Jennifer Schroeder, Megan Kelly, Florangel Sandoval, Taylor White, Lauren Carter, Alexis Leskovac, Mary Bane, Lauren Engleman, Anna Nutter, Teryn Green, Quincey Book, Kelsi Warrington, Eric Tipton, Amanda Smith, Mariah Little, Melissa Boyko, Garbriella Grebe, Melissa Woody, Gabrielle Fazio, Matteline Fagan, Minerva Rubio, Amanda Wilkins, Kerry Carr, Ashley Riendeau, Kristen Cisar.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing, at Beebe Healthcare, is the only hospital-based nursing program in Delaware, and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). The diploma in Professional Nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, leading to licensure. The School of Nursing graduates have consistently had NCLEX pass rates that are above the national average. Graduates can complete a Bachelor’s in Nursing degree at the University of Delaware, Wilmington University, or Wesley College through well-defined articulation agreements.