The Mr. and Mrs. Ronald La Porte Scholarship has been awarded to five students at the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare


Five students at the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare have been awarded the Mr. and Mrs. Ronald La Porte Scholarship. The scholarship was initiated and is funded by the LaPortes, who live in Frankford, Delaware, in recognition of the treatment Mr. La Porte received and the high regard the couple has for the nurses at Beebe Healthcare.  The first scholarship was awarded in 2012. Tom Protack, Director of the Beebe Medical Foundation, presented the scholarships.


The students who received the scholarship this spring are:

  • Shauntey Singletary of Seaford
  • Danielle LeGates of Lewes
  • Meryha Michels of Lewes
  • Chelsey Webb of Milton
  • Jessie Simpson of Harrington


Caption: Shown here are, left to right, standing: Danielle LeGates; Meryha Michels; and Tom Protack, Director of Development at Beebe Medical Foundaton; and Jessie Simpson. Seated, are: Shauntey Singletary and Chelsey Webb.


Beebe Healthcare is a not-for-profit community healthcare system with a charitable mission to encourage healthy living, prevent illness, and restore optimal health for the people residing, working, or visiting in the communities we serve. It offers services throughout Southern Delaware including a 210-licensed-bed hospital, a cancer center, and outpatient facilities at multiple sites providing walk-in care, lab, imaging, and physical rehab services.  For more information, please visit us online at