Margaret H Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Medical Center Graduates Class of 2012

Back row (left to right): Laura Smith, commencement speaker, Christian McCabe, Sage Witkoski, Carleigh Kell, Chelsea Reed, Natalie Smolko, Elizabeth Theil, Erika Essig, Kelly Birago, Melissa Penuel, Kimberly Brasure, Amber Bennett, Kristy May, Tracy Bell Advisor, and Connie Bushey, Director; Front row (L to R) Patresa Karschner, Kaitlin Monroe, Caitlin Owens, Laura Davis, Erin Millman, and Lydia Manu.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Medical Center recently celebrated the graduation of 18 graduates, the Class of 2012, at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach.

School of Nursing faculty member Laura Smith, MSN, RN, was the commencement speaker. Jay Wingate, President of the Class of 2013 presented congratulations to the graduates. Laura Davis, President of the Class of 2012, shared class reflections, and introduced a video tribute that graduate Elizabeth Theil compiled.

The Honorable William S. Lee, Chair of Beebe Medical Center’s Board of Directors, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Sage Witkoski. The Beebe Medical Center Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian award for the second-highest academic achievement, which Medical Staff President Dr. Paul Peet presented to Christian McCabe. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Kristy May. The Patient Care Director’s Leadership Award was presented to Elizabeth Theil.

The Beebe Medical Center Auxiliary presented its award to the graduate who excelled academically, clinically and in community involvement to Chelsea Reed. Chelsea also was honored during the ceremony for her perfect attendance. Elizabeth Theil received the Maternal Child Award that Eleanor Cordrey presented in memory of her sister Virginia Cottingham to the graduate demonstrating an interest in maternal-child nursing. Kelly Birago received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Bayside Health Association Award honoring the memory and characteristics of Alison Trout was presented to Laura Davis. Lydia Manu was honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education. Natalie Smolko received the Pat Smith Leadership Award, which honors the memory and attributes of our colleague, leader, and friend.

Cancer in Common of Rehoboth honored Erika Essig with its award, recognizing the graduate with an interest in cancer. Kaitlin Monroe was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. The Lily Campbell Advocacy Award was initiated to recognize the graduate who advocated for others. Kim Brasure was the recipient of this award.. Beebe Medical Center Chaplain, Keith Goheen, Jr., presented the Invocation and Benediction.

Connie E. Bushey, MSN, MEd, RN, Director of the School of Nursing and Class Advisor Tracy Bell, MSN, RN, CMSRN, CNE, presented the graduates with their School Pins. Jeffrey M. Fried, FACHE, President and CEO of Beebe Medical Center, presented the diplomas.

Members of the Class of 2012 are: Amber Bennett, Kelly Birago, Kimberly Brasure, Laura
Davis, Erika Essig, Patresa Karschner, Carleigh Kell, Lydia Manu, Kristy May, Christian McCabe, Erin Millman, Kaitlin Monroe, Caitlin Owens, Melissa Penuel, Chelsea Reed, Natalie Smolko, Elizabeth Theil, and Sage Witkoski.

Reception and fellowship was shared following the graduation in the Epworth Church Fellowship Hall.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing, at Beebe Medical Center, is the only hospital-based nursing program in Delaware, and is accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC). The diploma in Professional Nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination, leading to licensure. Beebe graduates have one of the highest NCLEX pass rates in the state and can complete a Bachelors in Nursing degree at Wilmington University and University of Delaware through well defined articulation agreements.